TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - Probably not a problem, but...
People Seeking Info

Subject Probably not a problem, but...

Posted by Ted (92TT) on September 10, 2021 at 8:51 PM
  This message has been viewed 141 times.

In Reply To How badly did I just F-up? posted by nelso419 on September 10, 2021 at 06:48 PM

Message [Disclaimer: I'm not a mechanical engineer, or even a choo-choo train engineer. I do manage system engineers, but computer screws are tiny, tiny. However, I did do 30 minutes of Google research, so I am a qualified expert.]

First off, the fasteners you mentioned are not what I would consider critical applications, as they are not subjected to high cyclic loads (for example: rotational like con rods, or heat/pressure like cylinder heads). They are primarily vibration and shear loaded, and failure would result in noticeable vibration or noise, not a life-threatening condition (unless all your steering bolts failed at the same time--not likely).

Second, empirical data (years of wrenching on several cars, motorcycles, bicycles, etc., etc.) and 30-minutes of scientific research point to lack of proper torque (i.e. too little) as the primary cause of fatigue failure resulting from excessive load cycling. Over-torquing, on the other hand, does not appear to be a significant factor in fatigue, though it can be a cause of tensile failure (see links for more on that).