TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - Dash Lights Not Working
People Seeking Info

Subject Dash Lights Not Working

Posted by 23_Z32 on February 02, 2021 at 3:08 PM
  This message has been viewed 143 times.

Message Hello, this is my first time posting here. I've used this forum before to help with other problems over the years, just not as a member. This time I'm coming up empty as far as a solution to my problem.

As the subject states, my dash lights (like when you turn your running/head lights on) do not come on, plus a few more, I'll explain as I go.

First, the background to the problem. (Everything worked before I decided to fix my tachometer) So, I was having some trouble with the tachometer fluttering around and remembered I had seen a post on here from years ago on how to fix your speedometer. It was the simple fix of resoldering some connections and the gauge has worked ever since. I decided to check if that was the case with my tach and to my surprise it was. I fixed the almost broken solder connection and installed everything back into my Z, hooked the battery back up and when I went to check, I didn't notice any dash lights come on. No security light blinking, no door open, the usual lights that illuminate when nothing else is on. So I tried to turn the outside lights on to check dash lights (outside lights work... lows/highs, running lights, blinkers, everything). Interior lights like: dome, footwell, and even the pods for the climate control and the lights/cruise/rear defrost, all work as they should as well as they light up.