TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - Polar Engineering composite headlight lens for Nissan Z32
People Seeking Info

Subject Polar Engineering composite headlight lens for Nissan Z32

Posted by Polar_Engineering on May 20, 2023 at 5:52 AM
  This message has been viewed 929 times.

Message Hello,

This is another small project that I’ve been working on for close to 3 years now (believe it or not). I have finally reached the desired results/execution and wanted to share with those who may be interested in these lens for their car.

A bit of a background first… You are probably asking “why did you even bother with this?”. Well, I was never really satisfied with the light output that Z32 headlights had in their factory form. Back when I had stock halogen bulbs, I could barely see anything on the road at night. I went up to a much brighter HIB bulb later with aided the issue, but only partially. The lens and shield in a factory projector not giving a good light pattern and have a borderline non-existent cut-off line. Ever since I saw decent quality projector retrofits in the past (something like TSX projector or similar) I fell in love and definitely wanted something of that sort in my Z32. Of course, those TSX projectors are now considered old and there are MUCH better options out there with bi-xenon function. With a proper projector that has a well-designed lens/shield combination, fluting on lens becomes unnecessary and actually hurts the sharpness of cut-off line. Furthermore, I personally think that fluting is very 90s and I wanted to do a bit of a facelift and give Z32 a bit of a modern look (like 99SPEC bits that were released by Nissan). Clear composite lens were the “clear choice” for this facelift that I had in mind and I definitely wanted to build them someday.