TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - My Arduino multi-gauge/datalogger/e-fan controller project
People Seeking Info

Subject My Arduino multi-gauge/datalogger/e-fan controller project

Posted by black300zx on December 24, 2016 at 2:56 PM
  This message has been viewed 1270 times.

Message After tinkering with this project on and off since the summer, I finally have it to a point where it's actually worth posting about :)

I initially became inspired while searching on here for e-fan controller setups to use with my Maxima E-fan. I never liked any of the off-the-shelf e-fan controllers, and I ran across a post from a member who was using an Arduino to run a PI loop to control the E-Fan speed which intrigued me. As I started playing with the Arduino more, the project scope increased into something that I'm really happy with :)

Cliffnotes on what it currently does:
-Arduino Uno; gets power from the OEM clock harness
-Adafruit data logging shield
-Adafruit tri-axial accelerometer
-I tapped into the OEM CTS sensor voltage @ the ECU
-An AEM 0-100psig sensor will replace the OEM OPSU
-The Uno drives the gauge cluster Coolant Temp and Oil Pressure gauges
-Logs any reading or parameter that I want to an SD card at a configureable frequency
-A gutted OEM clock is converted into a digital readout. The "reset" button feed back into the Arduino to let me change what sensor reading is displayed

Planned Enhancements:
-Once spring comes and I can collect baseline coolant temp data, I'll install my maxima e-fan and tune the PID loop
-I already have provisions in the hardware and software to add a boost sensor to control a boost control PID loop; so someday I hope to finally do a TT swap on my slicktop to see if I can get decent boost control from it