TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - You're still making lite of an extremely complex project.
People Seeking Info

Subject You're still making lite of an extremely complex project.

Posted by Schmeal (NV) on August 05, 2015 at 4:44 PM
  This message has been viewed 409 times.

In Reply To No, not exactly posted by i_s_64 on August 05, 2015 at 02:31 PM

Message Your point: With modern engineering software mechanical design is more or less automated requiring little user input.

My response : Wrong. ("False" as Bernie would say)

To start, I am an engineer, with a degree, and about 9 years in "one off" test model design experience. I have designed aero articles, I've designed structural articles. I've even designed things that fly beyond the speed of sound and things on fighter jets. The way your talking I suspect you've never actually done this in practice. I'll explain the process. (reading your response to me on how to do engineering design work almost make me puke)

Even with today's technology we still have to sit down and review and refine automated design optimization outputs using our human minds. A lot of time its better just to do your own design because setting up such a detailed optimizer would take longer then engineering intuition will take to produce a better result. Also optimizers, however advanced, even writing your own code usually still produce stupid/unrealistic solutions. Even engineering practices that heavily rely on computer optimization still require human interaction after a design iteration to correct aspects overlooked by the optimizer. THERE IS NO REPLACEMENT FOR HUMAN DESIGN INPUT DURING ANY PRODUCT DESIGN PROCESS. At a minimum a hand calc is done to check the order of magnitude of any result before moving forward with a design.

1.Importing/creating correct geometry